Jewish Graduation and Rabbinical Degrees Tid-Bits #1

Ten Made Rabbis At Jewish School 1922

The Jewish Theological Seminary held its graduating exercises yesterday afternoon in Aeolian hall. The degree of Rabbi and Teacher and Preacher in Israel was conferred on ten graduates, and twenty-four young men and women received diplomas from the Teachers' Institute. Six certificates were granted in the extension department, a new department established in memory of Professor Israel Friedlander. Members of the graduating classes of 1897, 1902 and 1912 were present at the ceremonies, marking spans of twenty-five, twenty and ten years from the time of their graduation.

Dr. Cyrus Adler, acting President of the institution, declared in an address that the modern problem of the young Jew was to harmonize Judaism with Americanism.

"It was the proposal of Dr. Morals, the founder of this seminary, that it should be both Jewish and American," said Dr. Adler. "As he put it, the blatant talk about the incompatibility of Judaism and Americanism would cease when broadly cultured ministers preached the sanctity of our ordinances and strengthen their lessons by their example."

The invocation was made by Dr. Phineas Israel of the class of 1902, and the opening address by Dr. Herman Abramowitz of the same class.

Dr. Abramowitz touched on the function of the rabbi as teacher, saying that it was his duty to inaugurate every educational means that will develop a laity well informed in matters Jewish. Dr. Abramowitz also warned against allowing the synagogue to be converted into a social centre, to the detriment of its usefulness as a religious centre.

Max David Davidson, a graduate from Newark, N.J., delivered a valedictory in which he urged his fellow graduates to unite in importuning Congress to pass the resolution now pending to approve of Great Britain turning over Palestine to the Jews.

The recipients of the rabbinical degree were Max David Davidson, Joshua Finkel, Gershon Hadas, Herman Hailperin, Alter Felix Landesman, Joseph Miller, Morris Schatz, Louis Judah Schwefel, Morris Silverman and Max Zucker.

The graduates of the Teachers College were David Joseph Attinson, Solomon Citron, Emuanel Cohen, Bessie Diamond, Israel Eisenberg, henry Fisher, Clara Ethel Gerver, Florence Glaser, Solomon Hauptman, Ida Heller, Ziporah Holland, Samuel Klaus, Isidore Eli Krakower, Rebecca Letz, Leah Lipschitz, Morris Lorberblatt, Nathan Moses Molshatsky, Adele Roosin, Marcia Rosenberg, Louis Leon Ruffman, Sarah Sameth, Elsie Simonofsky, William Noah Sternberg and Gussie Toback.

In the extension department the following were granted certificates to teach the Jewish religion in the elementary schools: Clara Gold, Miriam Ephraim, Mamie Goldsmith, Esther Itzcowitz, Jessie Weiss and Sarah Feinsilver. (1)

Rabbinical Degrees Given 1920

At the graduation of eight students from the Jewish Theological Seminary of America yesterday at Aeolian Hall Louis Marshall, Chairman of the Trustees, declared the Jewish education of the youth of this country to be shamefully neglected, blaming this state of affairs partly on parents but principally upon the nature of the institutions and their instructors.

"While we boast of the great number of Jews in this country and look with pride upon our synagogues," said Mr. Marshall," we have not enough synagogues nor have we sufficient schools. We have not begun to deal with any sort of vision with regard to education."

Mr. Marshall said that in many communities the schools are not worthy of their name and that the children, accustomed to modern pedagogic methods in their public schools, laugh at their incompetent teachers in the religious schools.

Dr. Cyrus Adler, President of the institution, conferred rabbinical degrees upon the following:

George Abelson, Master of Arts, New York University.

Philip Reis Alstat, Master of Arts, Columbia University.

Nathan Herman Colish, Bachelor of Arts, College of the City of new York. With merit.

Isaac Alfie Hadad, Master of Arts, New York University.

Max Kadushin, Bachelor of Science, New York University. With merit.

Hyman J. Landau, Master of Arts, New York University.

Norman Salit, Bachelor of Arts, College of the City of New York; Doctor Juris, New York University.

Morris Schussheim, Master of Arts, Columbia University. With merit.

Following are the seminary prize winners:

The Laemmlein Buttenwieser Talmud Prize to Joseph Miller; the Alexander Kohut Memorial Prize to Alter F. Landesman and Louis M. Levitsky; the Alumni Association Prize to Benjamin Plotkin and Theodore Shabshelowitz; the Robison Memorial prize to Max D. Davidson; the Lamport Homiletic Prize to Benjamin Plotkin and Solomon Grayzel; the Irving Lehman Prize to Morris Silverman and Morris Schatz; the Abraham Berliner Prize to Dr. Louis Kinkelstein; the Junior Prizes to Nachman S. Arnoff and Louis Resnikoff; the Junior Essay prize to Isidore Signor.

Cash scholarships were awarded to Benjamin Plotkin, Max D. Davidson, Goodman A. Rose, Louis Levitsky, Louis Schwefel, Alter F. Landesman, Solomon Rivlin, Solomon Grayzel, Joseph Miller, Morris Schatz, Julius Wharton and Herman Hailperin.

A few minutes after a letter from Jacob H. Schiff had been read expressing his inability to attend the exercises, he walked down the aisle to the platform causing the large audience to arise to its feet and applaud. He acknowledged their greeting but did not deliver an address.

Website: The History
Article Name: Jewish Graduation and Rabbinical Degrees Tid-Bits #1
Researcher/Transcriber Miriam Medina


(1) The New York Times June 12, 1922 ; (2) The New York Times June 7, 1920
Time & Date Stamp: